Finished: five dollar dress.

Five dollar dress

Five dollar dress

Five dollar dress

Five dollar dress

Australian summers aren’t known for being very conducive to working with bulky or overly warm yarn, so it tends to be a good time to pick up yarn for cheap. I recently managed to score several skeins of a cute little cotton/ acrylic yarn appropriately named ‘Beetle‘ for a mere dollar per 50g ball. Needless to say, I bought everything they had in two sweet shades of green. The open weave of this mesh pattern and the large hook meant I only used a little under 5 skeins for this quick fix of a dress. Score!

Start to Finish: A week and a half.
Yarn: Moda Vera Beetle, 50% cotton/ 50% acrylic
Hook: 7mm
Pattern: Prep School by Doris Chan.
I love Doris Chan’s approach to pattern-writing, and I’ve found that in the crochet world a seamless, intuitive (for me) kind of pattern is kind of hard to come by. I’ve ordered her book Everyday Crochet, and am eagerly awaiting its arrival.

Notes: I didn’t have the right sized hook, so my gauge was much larger than that in the pattern. I worked through the pattern as-is (it’s worked top-down) until joining for the neckline, and discovered that it was going to be way too loose without some tweaking. So I ripped it back to the shoulder (leaving the top back panel intact) and made up my own little scoop neckline. Once it fit around the bust, I just keep working joined rounds in double crochet until I was happy with the length! It’s not flash, but it was quick and easy and a reasonably successful experiment. Oh, and I fudged a weird little ruffle trim which is cuter in real life than in the pics.

Ravelled here.

One thought on “Finished: five dollar dress.

  1. Love it…color, fit, style and price! Impressed with your ability to knit and crochet so well!!!

Leave a Reply

