Finished: the Brunch cardi.

Brunch cardi - turtleneck detail FO

Brunch cardi - back detail FO

Brunch cardi - neckline FO

Brunch cardi - front FO

Brunch cardi - saddle shoulder FO

Brunch cardi - sleeves FO

Brunch cardi -zip closure detail FO

Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton Ease (50% cotton/ 50% acrylic; worsted weight).
Pattern: A hodgepodge of Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Seamless Set-in Sleeve Sweater and her Seamless Saddle Shoulder Sweater. Sleeves were worked in the round to the underarms, body in one piece to the underarms, then joined together. I worked simultaneous set-in sleeves to begin with, then at the shoulders decided to work a saddle. I love the way it turned out, even though me changing my mind at the last minute meant the yoke was definitely too long (see the crazy-long sleeves?). The method for making the saddle shoulder is such a piece of cake, so simple and elegant that it’s my new method of choice. I’ve started another–in green–and it will be a saddle shoulder, although not as interesting without a fancy stitch pattern on the sleeves to carry across.
Verdict: This is the most wearable garment I’ve made for myself to date. The torso length is perfect, I love the neckline, I learnt to put in a zip (which I will be doing again), the cable texture pleases me no end, and apart from the too-long yoke and sleeves (as mentioned above, entirely my fault) the fit suits me perfectly. It’s really comfy and I couldn’t be happier!

5 thoughts on “Finished: the Brunch cardi.

Leave a Reply

