Epic Vegan MoFo Survey

simple things

Survey questions formulated by the PPK and saved here.

What’s your favorite spice or spice blend?
Freshly cracked black pepper.

You have $20 to spend on fresh groceries and produce for the whole week (with a fairly well stocked pantry of dry goods, legumes, grains, and spices). What do you buy?
I’m crap at this–I don’t plan meals out a few days in advance, let alone a week. I make lots of little shopping trips throughout the week and cook based on my whims.

What’s your favorite way to make tofu?
Scrambled! Crumbled into any kind of sauce and simmered. I’m not really a fan of the texture of tofu any other way.

Vegan guilty pleasure?
I don’t believe in guilty pleasures: no guilt, just pleasure.

If you could make anyone vegan, who would it be?
My partner. It would make home cooked meals much easier.

If you could only read one other vegan blog, what would it be?
Vegan Eats and Treats. Amey’s energy and enthusiasm is infectious.

Were you always interested in cooking, or did veganism change the way you saw and interacted with food?
Longtime amateur foodie, but veganism has made me really passionate about food and the possibilities that exist.

Excluding analogues, what new things have you tried that you probably wouldn’t have as an omni?
Miso and tahini.

What is the one vegan staple that everyone seems to love, but you can’t get behind?
Quinoa. I think it’s something to do with the texture. Oh, and green smoothies? Dude. No dice.

What was your first “wow, I’m such a stereotypical vegan” moment?
I haven’t had one yet, but I feel like if I start making green smoothies there will be no going back.

First recipe you veganized?
ANZAC biscuits. So good.

What would you like to veganize, but haven’t yet?
A really decent vegan cheese to melt onto nachos: it’s the holy grail.

Favorite kitchen utensil/appliance?
My waffle iron. Waffles are the best.

Most disastrous kitchen failure?
When I was trying to learn to like miso, I made some pasta that tasted like vegemite. It was, sadly, deemed inedible.

First vegan cookbook?
The Garden of Vegan. Bought when I first started thinking of going vegan.

What question about being vegan do you HATE answering?
‘Why did you decide to go vegan?’ I always feel like I should be more prepared for that question, but there’s too much I want to say and too little time to make that pithy, perfect soundbite.

If you could tell the world one thing about vegans, what would it be?
We’re right.

Funniest vegetable?
Oh, beetroot. Magically turning everything pink.

What is a family recipe you have veganized?
Sweet and sour sausages. The one weirdo family favourite dish in our house, and a piece of cake to veganise.

Weirdest food combination?
Dill pickles + everything.

Is there something you wish you could veganize, but can’t/couldn’t?
As an omni I used to make an infamously perfect pavlova, and have yet to try to replicate my former glory with a vegan version.

Favorite ways to prepare tofu, seitan, tempeh, any other vegan proteins?
Tempeh crumbled and simmered in apricot nectar and french onion soup is pretty damned good.

Are your pets vegan? if so, what do you feed them? tell us about having vegan furbabies!
No pets. I like animals more in theory than up close. I have to remind myself sometimes that that doesn’t make me Hitler.

Favorite non-dairy milk?
I haven’t tried too many. Vitasoy with Calcium (the purple one) is my soy milk of choice.

What’s one “vegan myth” you’d like to squash?
You don’t have to be an animal lover or an extremist to go vegan and love it. And, of course, it’s totally not hard. Digesting cheese is way harder.

3 thoughts on “Epic Vegan MoFo Survey

Leave a Reply

