Potato and Lentil Bake, or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Follow a Recipe.

lentil veg bake

I love me a good veggie bake, and this is a great one. I think the lentil mixture would be great in a lasagne, with spaghetti or on toast. It’s quick, easy and made with simple pantry ingredients (for me, at least. I guess I can’t speak for your pantry). The result is a hearty, hot-as-lava belly warmer with comforting bolognaise-style flavours and a slightly chunky texture. Loved by vegans and omnivores alike.

wild vegan cookbook

The recipe came from Wild Vegan, an Australian vegan cookbook I would highly recommend. As much as I love my US and UK vegan cookbooks (and I do, I really do) there’s something awesome about flicking through recipes and being able to picture each ingredient on a Perth supermarket shelf.

With the upcoming Vegan Mofo in mind, and wanting to be able to recommend the cookbook unreservedly, I made a genuine effort to follow the recipe as written. I think the only change I made was to use veggies I had on hand, subbing red capsicum and zucchini for the celery in the recipe. Anyone who knows me will vouch for the fact that this constitutes a great deal of restraint on my part, and I am pleased to report that this modicum of self-control paid off: I’ve now got a new favourite go-to meal, perfect for the cooler months.

8 thoughts on “Potato and Lentil Bake, or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Follow a Recipe.

  1. ha ha, that’s awesome! I’m the total opposite. I’m always very pleased with myself when I actually modify a recipe, however slightly!
    🙂

  2. Looks and sounds delicious! I just made a big pot of lentil soup today as we all have some lovely cold-type illness at present, but the potatoes in your dish really scream comfort to me….

    PS My Wee One has sworn off bananas so a week or so ago I finally got me some banana bread, was really yummy!

Leave a Reply

