Happy camper.

doughnut muffins

On the weekend I bought an amazing vegan doughnut muffin from the Animal Rights Advocates stand at Perth’s own Cruelty Free Festival. It was tender, sweetly spiced with nutmeg and cinnamon, with a crisp outer edge dunked in cinnamon sugar. I haven’t had one of the unhealthy deep-fried variety in over two years, and these few bites of perfection were sweeter than even my fondest memories.

Of course, when I got home I had to find myself a recipe and whip up a batch or two.

Apart from my usual subs of soy milk for the cows’ milk, Nuttelex for butter, raw sugar for white, and wholemeal flour for white, I used ground flaxseeds mixed with water to replace the egg and (as others have done) used more than the called-for amounts of topping ingredients when I ran out half way through coating the muffins.

Quick, cinnamony, and healthier than getting out the deep frier. What more can a gal ask for?

3 thoughts on “Happy camper.

Leave a Reply

