Towards a balance.

Fiona's Top

Regular readers will remember my decision earlier this year to rediscover my long-neglected passion for the written word by rationing the other interests vying for my free time.

Recently, however, I’ve found that something else has crept in to vie for the remaining precious evening knitting time: the internets.

While I value the human connections I’ve made through blogging, ravelry and-to a lesser extent–big social media like facebook & twitter, lately I seem to be spending a lot more time consuming information than actually interacting with others.

When new information sparks creativity or connections this can be a great source of inspiration, but I feel the need to balance this influx of new ideas with time to reflect and create for myself.

I’m going to start this week by cutting back my screen time to no more than 2 hours a day (once I get home from work), and will check in at the end of the week with my thoughts.

Have a great week!

4 thoughts on “Towards a balance.

  1. I’m making this same decision as of late, too. For me, my blog works if it helps me 1) document my family life and crafting pursuits and 2) motivate myself to create, create, and have fun!

    I hope your blog remains ever fun. I love it.

Leave a Reply

