Cupcake Day!

vegan cupcakes

My contributions to our workplace Cupcake Day for the RSPCA: gingerbread cupcakes with creamy lemon icing, which were the breakaway star of this affair; just amazing. And red velvet cupcakes with dark chocolate ganache, which were popular but not to my taste (I had never tried red velvet cake before, and now I know I’m not the world’s biggest fan). Both recipes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.

cupcake day

Non-vegan vanilla cupcakes with chantilly cream and Smarties made by my co-conspirator and fellow vegetarian in the office (plus gorgeous fresh strawberries, bananas, apples and oranges). See the cutout kitty and puppy decorations?

cupcake day

Sexy Low-Fat Vanilla Raspberry Cupcakes made by the aforementioned coworker, using the recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World (damn fine book, that). And fresh kiwi fruit, yum!

Thanks to everyone who helped make it a delicious and super-fun occasion, we also managed to raise over $100 for RSPCA WA. Win!

cupcake day

3 thoughts on “Cupcake Day!

  1. Yum! I should try that gingerbread cupcake recipe, those sound really good. I’m not a huge fan of red velvet either, I’ve only had them once from a bakery that has vegan cupcakes and I thought they were a bit bland.

  2. So yummy, that book is definately my vegan savior! I’ve not tried the gingerbread or lemon icing but I think I need to now. My dad loves the red velvet cupcakes, it’s his favorite cake and I swear if he didn’t know I bake only vegan stuff he would never know they were vegan. I agree, they really aren’t my fave either, I’m just a chocoholic in the end…congrats on the funds raised for such a good cause too!

Leave a Reply

