Owning it.

cupcake caramel

I don’t have time to compete with the brilliance of others. I don’t want to go there. I just want to be me. ~Wendy Bernard

I loved this recent post by legendary knitwear designer Wendy Bernard, who also writes one of the most down-to-earth blogs I’ve ever had the pleasure to read.

It’s an idea I’m finding particularly resonant lately, as I come to understand myself and my motivations better. It’s really only in the past few years that I’ve realised what I love most of all is to give, to share whatever resources I have, to make sure time and care and funds are invested where they’re needed most, and to share in the creation of something good. For whatever reason, it’s a trait that I’d neglected–because, I tell myself: that’s not normal, right? People want to accumulate the biggest pile of possessions, not give them away; and no-one likes a self-righteous goody-two-shoes going on and on about causes and asking people for money…

Well, no more denying it: I really do think that inspiring people to join in creating change is more worthwhile than making sure I get the latest iGadget for Christmas. I don’t have time to worry about how this attitude might be perceived by anyone else, because there are just too many good things to be a part of.

For instance, I’m practising my cupcake skillz for the RSPCA’s Cupcake Day–we’re holding an event at our workplace on September 1st. Cupcakes to raise money for kitties and puppies–what’s not to love?

One thought on “Owning it.

Leave a Reply

