Stubborn, lazy and not afraid to admit it.

ravelympics thumbs-up

Remember my beautiful, awesome Ravelympics 2010 challenge sweater? I’m frogging it, without even a tinge of sadness or regret, to reuse the yarn. There are two big reasons why I’m deconstructing the end result of the awesomeness that was Team Vegan! and the 2010 Ravelympics; Flexibility and Fit.

I need the flexibility of a cardigan, whether it’s secured with buttons, a zip or some fancy kind of closure. I have a couple of pullovers in my wardrobe, but I just don’t wear them. I’m an ‘Oh a draft: I’m freezing/ Ooh sun: I’m boiling’ kind of person, to my partner’s endless bemusement. I was kind of kidding myself thinking that I would get much use out of a pullover, and I’ll be the first to admit that this denial came out of a little laziness, since cardigans are obviously more work. Well, it’s cardigans all the way for me from now on.

And then there’s the shape, or lack thereof. I can’t fault the pattern (Stripes! is lovely, and I’ll fight to the death with anyone who says otherwise) but I underestimated just how much waist shaping I needed, and due to some miscalculations on my part the torso was much longer than I realised and the waist decreases ended up around my hips (of all places!). You can see some of the weirdness in the photo below.

ravelympics sweater finished!

And last but not least, the round yoke and yoke detail (while gorgeous) is not flattering to my body shape, essentially exaggerating my already top-heavy frame. I have found the Fit to Flatter series at stash, knit, repeat particularly enlightening in this respect. Since reading the first few tutorials demonstrating body shapes, I’ve been looking at garments I wear a lot and why they work for me.

For me these details boil down to deep V-neck or scoop necklines, negative ease in the bust area, a nice long hem that ends around my hips, and either an elbow-length sleeve that draws attention to my waist or full-length sleeves. Cardigans that form a V-neckline and have the additional vertical line of a button band are particularly awesome.

All that said, I’m going to have to exercise particular self-restraint when it comes to sweaters with fancy yoke details or easy peasy raglan sleeves, since they’re quite fun to knit. If I start mentioning some delectable Icelandic yoked pullover that I want to knit, you guys have my express permission to keep me honest and give me a poke in the ribs.

One thought on “Stubborn, lazy and not afraid to admit it.

  1. Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear it but I know how you feel. Any way you could cut and sew her into a cardi? Or is the waist shaping just something that would make the cardi fit weirdly too? Maybe some sewn darts in the back to make it more fitted at the waist?

Leave a Reply

