Yellow Rose Recipes

yellow rose corn cakes & tvp
Jalapeno corn cakes and Taco Salad TVP, from Yellow Rose Recipes by Joanna Vaught.

I love this cookbook. As soon as it arrived in the mail I sat down, flicked all the way through, and decided on two recipes I could combine for dinner that night. And I made them exactly as written. The corncakes in particular were a hit with the entire omni family, and I’m thinking about cooking them again this week.

I haven’t had a great deal of exposure to Tex-Mex food, growing up in Western Australia and all, but I have a deep love of sweetcorn, avocado and red kidney beans, especially in combination, and was very pleased to see them featured so affectionately in this cookbook. The recipes, ingredients and tone of the book are warm, practical and free of pretension—reminding me a bit of another favourite, Vegan Lunch Box. I think this book will become well-used and live on the kitchen counter full of scraps of paper and scribbles, rather than sitting sedately on the bookshelf.

Leave a Reply

