sketty

LRball pasta

It may not look like much, but this dinner was so damn satisfying: lentil rice balls from Vegan Lunch Box, steeped in a tomato & parsley-mint pesto sauce with zucchini, mushroom and capsicum.

I was a little dubious about the lentil rice balls when I first made them two nights prior with the best of intentions. You cook brown rice and lentils until soft, but I was preoccupied and they ended up undercooked and dry. Yay me.

I made up a tomato-based sauce for the spaghetti this evening, and placed the LRB into the sauce. Left them alone for 5 minutes, and when I came back they were transformed! My lame, dry, undercooked morsels plumped up and soaked up the juicy sauce like nobody’s business. This action resulted in a tender, hearty texture reminiscent–but not creepily so–of the meatballs my Mum used to make.

Try this recipe! It was very forgiving of my inattention and recovered admirably after I almost burnt the eponymous main ingredients. You cannot go wrong with this delicious dish.

One thought on “sketty

Leave a Reply

