Calzone and prizes

For some reason I seem particularly drawn to the way each culture comes up with their own answer to the toasted sandwich: the quesadilla, the kebab, the calzone, the humble jaffle–I love the comfort, the portability and the prospect of a no muss, no fuss leftover lunch.

The calzone shown above was my first ever pizza made from scratch (using a lazy version of the Vegan Lunch Box recipe), and inside it is an amazing basil pesto from Vegan with a Vengeance. The pesto was almost too rich and creamy for this purpose, so next time I’ll use it more sparingly. Still, a great result for a first attempt. I’ll definitely be doing this more often.

Speaking as we were of comfort, thank you so much for your awesome descriptions on your favourite seasons–it seems I’m not the only one who loves fall/autumn!

I picked lucky-last commenter Marion’s name out of a hat (figuratively speaking; it was actually a bowl) and she will soon be receiving the lovely Knit It Up sock yarn. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Calzone and prizes

  1. What a lovely surprise! Thanks so much. The yarn arrived today in a lovely bag, and is so soft. I think I will save it for a special pair of socks. Just need to find the time now to knit it up…Thank you for your very generous gift Christabel.
    Best wishes
    Marion

Leave a Reply

