A gingery day.

A gingery day

I’m a big ginger fan, loving it in both sweet and savoury incarnations. But today I think I found something approaching ginger heaven: a small mug of ginger tea sweetened with a little maple syrup, and served with cake. But not just any cake.

This cake, possibly the most delicious cake ever invented. It’s quick, easy, and once you’ve preheated the oven you’re almost done.

I used all white flour due to a lack of wholemeal flour on hand, and arrowroot in place of the potato flour, ’cause that’s what I had in the pantry. I’d never tasted blackstrap molasses before and people seemed to have mixed reactions to it, so I half-chickened and where it says ‘molasses’ I substituted half golden syrup. Oh, and I added a pinch of ground cloves–just because I’m constitutionally incapable of following a recipe without tinkering.

All of the above resulted in the most tender, aromatic and heartwarming dessert I’ve had in some time. Yum!

Leave a Reply

