Rock the halls!

Bender 1

First, a confession that may well alienate anyone reading this: I am a bit of a grinch when it comes to Christmas music. I’m not talking about nativity-themed choral stuff, I love traditional carols to bits. What bugs me is the music they play at work all day long (Ahh, retail…): it’s music someone decided was Christmassy but seems to be mostly about snow, Santa or the frustrations of long-distance romance. Having never personally experienced any of those things, I may be the world’s biggest cynic but they leave me uninspired.

Being an obsessive mix-tape maker, I decided to make a rocking holiday mix of my own. Now, only two of these songs have any Christmas content whatsoever, and my sister the traditionalist will bemoan the lack of bells and children’s voices. But these are my gems, the songs that are constantly making me embarass myself on public transport by grinning like a loon and twitching in time. There’s a good deal of giddy, dance-inducing folk music here and a few songs more subtle and spare. But they all inspire that rare unselfconscious pleasure that I associate with the best of the season, that handshake of the human and the divine. And so, at the risk of outstaying my welcome (did I just mention religion? What was I thinking?), how about a little giveaway?

I am turning 26 next Wednesday (is 26 still mid-twenties, or late-twenties? I have no idea), and I feel like celebrating. Whoever would like some lovely sock yarn and a copy of said mix-tape, leave a comment on this post with a suggestion of what I should be when I grow up. Comment as many times as you like between now and Christmas and then I’ll make up a package to send to my favourite commenter in the new year.

4 thoughts on “Rock the halls!

  1. heehee.. Well, I’m not sure about what you ought to be when you grow up… I will ponder that. What I wanted to comment on was the music issue. My favorite stuff is a cassette of Christmas revels from the medieval times. I adore it! I love that they talk about the old traditions of the holiday when people actually believed in things. Wassail, wassail! Here we come a-wassailing among the leaves so green.. here we come a-wassailing so fair to be seen… Love and joy come to you, and to you a wassail to!

  2. 26? definitely mid twenties still.and i think you should be a modern dancer when you grow up… and only dance to the music on your mixed tape. wait, you already involuntarily twitch when you hear that music, does that already count as modern dance?

  3. Yeah!December birthdays rock!I’ve just turned 25 and intend on being in my mid-twenties for the next couple of years at least so you’re definitely still in!As for a ‘grown-up’ job…..you could take over from the current ‘christmas music’ person and start supplying retailers with your very own seasonal favourites…..lets face it, they defiantly get them from the same place. I don’t know if you get it in Oz, and believe me I am a charitable person but if I hear Band Aid one more time I will not be responsible for my actions!

  4. 26 is a babe in arms – definitely still mid-20’s ;)have a great birthday – be whoever you want to be, and feel free to change you mind as often as necessary! Growing up is over-rated, btw, and a concept I still can’t seem to get my head around, even though I am apparently of the age where one should have already gotten grown up 😉

Leave a Reply

