cseneque

Knitting; vegan food; searching for simplicity.

A wild ride

2 Comments

El Lebowski

I don’t usually mark New Year’s Eve in any special way, nor have I ever made resolutions with any conviction, but I can’t deny that over the past few years the start of a new one always seems to affect me whether I like it or not.  I find myself reflecting on where I am and where I want to be, and more importantly, who I am and who I want to be.

In 2012 I discovered Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT) and began to notice my patterns of negative self-talk/ self-belief, and in working to change this, have begun to feel more comfortable in my own skin.

At the beginning of this year I heard about people quitting sugar, read some books, and decided to try it.  After I stopped craving the sweetness and the afternoon pick-me-up, my eating patterns became more stable and my skin is clearer.

In February I started learning about introversion, particularly the fact that introverts often recharge by spending time alone, and find over-stimulation draining.  I read anecdotes and case studies and felt like I was beginning to understand myself in a whole new way.

I enrolled in a six-week introductory workshop on creative writing, and loved every minute of it.  For me this was like coming home, one more piece of the jigsaw slotting into place.  I am an introvert, and I like to write.

The past few months have been a time of uncertainty and stress for me while I looked at where I want to be next, which way I want to head career-wise. Then it was job applications, interviews, more stress, and then finally, last week, a job offer I was only too pleased to accept.

All of a sudden, without that uncertainty hanging over my head, I feel like I’ve got space in my brain again, room and energy to feel my way back to that creative space.

I’m knitting again, thinking about resurrecting an empty old storefront, and maybe writing a pattern or two.

How is everyone? It’s been a while.

Author: Christabel

Breakfast-obsessed vegan. Lover of blankies, Totoro, and Wonder Woman.

2 thoughts on “A wild ride

  1. Hello Christabel, I found your blog after joining K4C, and I have to say it’s one of my fave personal blogs I’ve found :) So please keep posting & looking forward to your next post.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.