cseneque

Knitting; vegan food; searching for simplicity.

Twenty twelve.

Leave a comment

Fair Isle loop

In the year just ended, I:

    started reading graphic novels;
    grew to love Twitter (much to my surprise);
    discovered that I almost always love a documentary;
    learned the joys of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (via this book), which has already had life-changing implications for me;
    travelled to Sydney twice;
    found some new favourite restaurants here in Perth;
    started eating quinoa;
    became addicted to homemade nut milk (sparked by watching this video);
    quit the daily caffeine habit, so that I can still enjoy coffee a few times a week (but without the annoying withdrawals);
    knit myself a jumper, and a few other things;
    gave myself permission to give up crochet;
    got my hair cut short, and 6 months later started growing it out again;
    started studying, stopped studying, and:
    helped put on a free Christmas Day lunch for around 1500 people.

2012 was an exciting and challenging year for me personally and professionally, and I feel like I’m at a very different place now than the same time last year. My plans for this year include refocusing on knitwear design (something I haven’t done much of since 2010), challenging myself to quit sugar for 8 weeks (I’ve just started reading this e-book), and thinking about cutting down the physical and psychological clutter in my life. But, if there’s one thing I learned in 2012, it’s that it’s okay for plans to change.

What did you learn in 2012?

Author: Christabel

Breakfast-obsessed vegan. Lover of blankies, Totoro, and Wonder Woman.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.