cseneque

Knitting; vegan food; searching for simplicity.

A turning point.

1 Comment

Lap rug WIP 24.05.12

I realised today that I don’t actually enjoy crocheting. I like the speed and the end product, but I see the creation of each crochet stitch as a step towards my goal rather than a pleasurable process in itself. I’m not sure why I love to knit and do not love to crochet, and I’m also not sure why it took me so long to realise it. I have a tendency to just ‘put up with’ things, and it’s taken many years for me to realise (with help) that my feelings of comfort or discomfort are not insignificant.

I had a similar epiphany earlier this year, and decided to change my study from psychology to communications, majoring in creative writing. It took me two decades to realise that self-doubt and fear, rather than protecting me, were just stopping me from developing skill at something I enjoy.

I have knitting and food to share, and silly pictures of Sydney, but there’s plenty of time for that. In the meantime, let me know: have you had any epiphanies lately?

Author: Christabel

Breakfast-obsessed vegan. Lover of blankies, Totoro, and Wonder Woman.

One thought on “A turning point.

  1. I have been struggling for years with the thought of actually finishing a knitted sweater. I am totally capable of doing it and I hope to do it at some point in the future, but I just realized, it’s not for me right now. And I’d rather work on the things I love to make and not beat myself up over the fact that I “should” be making a sweater :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.